Boost Your Website Traffic

Why Accessible Websites Are Testable Using All VPAT Versions

 Why Accessible Websites Are Testable Using All VPAT Versions

What is VPAT Accessibility For Websites?

VPAT accessibility for websites means that websites, web tools, and technologies are properly designed, developed, and coded so that people with disabilities can use them. More specifically, it ensures that people can perceive, understand, navigate, and interact with the web, as well as contribute to it.

For developers and businesses who wish to produce high-quality websites and online tools and prevent people from being excluded from utilizing their products and services, website VPAT accessibility is crucial. That encompasses all types of disability, including auditory, cognitive, neurological, physical, verbal, and visual, that hinder access to the web.

VPAT accessibility for websites enables people with any type of disability to get comparable access to the information provided on websites as everybody else. Unfortunately, many websites and online tools have been created with accessibility hurdles, making it difficult or impossible for persons with disabilities to utilize them.

Also Read: How to Make a Bodybuilding Logo For Your Fitness Center


Website VPAT Certification Benefits Everyone

Besides ensuring that people with disabilities can use and contribute to the web, VPAT accessibility for websites also benefits people without disabilities. For instance, people using mobile phones, smart watches, smart TVs, and other devices with small screens and different input modes can benefit from web VPAT certification.

The benefits of website VPAT certification extend to elderly persons whose capacities change with age. Other non-disabled people who can gain from VPAT certification of websites include those with temporary impairments like a broken arm or a lost pair of glasses, those with environmental restrictions like bright sunlight or places where they can’t hear audio, and those with slow Internet connections or bandwidth that is expensive or limited.


Which VPAT Versions Can Be Used For Website VPAT Assessments?

There are four different VPAT versions: VPAT WCAG, VPAT 508, VPAT EU, and VPAT INT. The VPAT WCAG version helps in the development of accessibility VPAT reports with emphasis on the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG). The VPAT 508 provides assistance in the creation of accessibility conformance reports (ACRs), with a focus on Section 508 compliance. While the VPAT INT aids in the development of ACRs for the global market, the VPAT EU assists in the creation of ACRs that satisfy the accessibility standards for Europe.

Because each of these VPAT versions has the standards and technical requirements based on the WCAG standard, they may all be used to assess websites for accessibility. The VPAT 508 includes the technical requirements and criteria for conformance with both the WCAG standard and the Revised Section 508 of the U.S. Rehabilitation Act.

Also Read: How to Increase Organic Traffic to your Website in 10 Steps

Along with the WCAG requirements, the VPAT EU edition also includes the EN 301 549 accessibility standards for Europe. The requirements and technical details of all three other VPAT versions are contained in the VPAT INT.

You can use any version of the VPAT to assess the accessibility of your website because the WCAG criteria and technical requirements used to evaluate websites’ accessibility are available in all four versions of the VPAT. Use “Not Applicable” in areas of your accessibility VPAT that have nothing to do with website accessibility if you’re using the VPAT 508, EU, or INT versions.


Need Help With Testing The VPAT Accessibility Of Your Website?

VPAT 2.4 examples created by VPAT accessibility experts can teach you how to test the VPAT accessibility of websites. Please feel free to phone (626) 486-2201 to discuss the accessibility of your website.